Dealing with the motivation drop

It’s inevitable.

You know the moment I’m talking about – when, despite doing well for however long on your eating well and being active goal, you lose any motivation. You get rebellion in its place. Instead of choosing the apple for a snack, you brazenly pick up a chocolate bar a the checkout, knowing that you don’t really need or want it but darn it, you deserve it. You go out for dinner and you deserve to order the massive pasta dish, or chips on the side, or dessert. You’ve been working hard, you deserve it.

And so begins the back slide (no, not backside, although that grows too). You wake up after a big night of eating out and you’re still stuffed, but instead of listening to your body, you keep eating. And who wants to work out on a stuffed belly? Not you, so you take a day off. After all, you deserve it.

Soon enough, you misplace your gym card and your hand weights in front of the TV are gathering dust. Your treat meals go back to being your regular meals and any pretext of deserving it goes out the window.

This usually happens for me after a month because I start seeing scale results quickly as I drop water weight, then start ignoring the scale and focussing on my clothes, which fit so much better. I feel great! So obviously, I lose motivation.

Wha?

Yeah, that makes no sense to me either. Surely when I’m doing well I should be hella motivated? You’d think but alas not. This is the time I have to fight to stay on track, to convince myself that I deserve better than junk food and sitting on the couch, that my body deserves to be active and fed well. Last week was not a good week eating-wise (other than the fact I ate lots of yummy food) and I ended up sitting more than moving, but it’s okay. This week will be better because I’m not letting the motivation drop Have any more of my energy.

I’m trying to focus on following through more this year and actually doing all the things I think of. Like making more friends and going out more. Like exercising more and writing more. Focusing my efforts instead of surfing the web or flicking channels while propped up on the couch. Television can wait. My health can’t.

How are you going with your goals so far?

3 thoughts on “Dealing with the motivation drop

  1. It’s the old “away” and “toward” motivation strategies. If you have an “away from” motivation, as soon as you get far enough away from the shitty stuff you lose motivation.

    Try and find a “toward” motivation that’s strong for you. Don’t ask me what works because all that weight loss stuff stopped working completely for me ;)

    Now I just don’t diet which means I don’t eat crap because I feel like I’ve deserved it.

    All the best with your quest … x

    • I’m working on just that – trying to work towards being stronger again, instead of listening to the scale, which never works for me.

      It’s funny, because I’ve always known that when it comes to saving money, I NEED a ‘towards’ goal otherwise I never save a lot, so it makes sense that the same thing applies to health as well. Hell, it applies to the everything in life really.

      • …and the scales are fickle. They tell you one thing at 8 a.m. and another at 8:10. Celebrate EFFORT. Results are not always within our control, but effort is. With consistent effort, results follow. Sounds like you are back on track. Looking forward to following the rest of your journey.

Leave a Reply

