Is strength considered “unfeminine”?

Strong woman

I’ve been working out with my Personal Trainer for almost 6 months now and we’ve been focusing on strength and weights. I see him twice a week and an hour of weights and core stability training, with some ab work thrown in for good measure. Additionally, I generally do about 30 minutes of cardio on those days too.

Personally, I’m loving the strength and endurance I have from these workouts. I have muscles for the first time EVER. If I have to stop on the way home from grocery shopping, it’s usually because the handles are cutting into my hands, not because it’s too heavy. I have muscle definition in my back (I’m bringing sexy back baby!) and my arms look frigging awesome. There’s still a lot of body fat to go and my arms still do the whole batwing thing, so I’m not a perfect specimen by any means, but I’m getting there.

The other day though, my VERY femininist roommate was looking at a photo of a high-school friend of hers on Facebook and suddenly exclaimed “Ewwww”. I looked over, expecting a medical photo or something equally gross and instead saw a photo of a very toned and muscular girl, flexing her arms. Now, she wasn’t body-builder type muscular, just toned and VERY fit.

My roommate was disgusted. She was all over how unfeminine it is and not sexy. I tried to understand what the issue was – was it the pose (arms flexed to show off the biceps) or was it the fact that she was muscular to start with. My roomie couldn’t explain other than to say it’s just not right, not feminine.

So I wonder. Is strength considered a masculine trait and best left to the men? Are women supposed to be weak and lithe, without any muscular structure?

Personally, I find female body builders unattractive (heck, I find body builders in general unattractive) because I think they work to eradicate all the feminine “stuff” – in their aim to get a ridiculously low body fat percentage, they lose their breasts and, eventually, in my opinion, become unisex.

But I think a strong, toned woman is sexy. No, scratch that. I find a strong, toned person – male or female – sexy. What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Is strength considered “unfeminine”?

  1. I guarantee that if your roommate started working out with you and your trainer it wouldn’t be long before her view on female muscle would change.

    It’s kind of sad that healthy, fit bodies are the exception rather than the rule.

    It’s amazing the changes that you can make in a short amount of time. Your roommate would thank you in 6 months time.

  2. I’m sure you’re right – if she would stop making excuses and get to the gym (I actually signed up because she was a member and we were going to workout together – ha!), she’d soon appreciate muscles, or more importantly, strength.

    It is sad that fit bodies are the exception – a lot of people value skinniness over health and lose sight of the what a healthy body can do.

    Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

