Being productive

So I see my parents this evening. I’m obviously very excited about this, considering that I woke this morning at 6:30am. It’s Saturday. I should not see 6:30am on a Saturday. But I opened my eyes and I was definitely awake.

So I got up, opened the blinds, made my bed and made myself a breakfast wrap. This is my favourite breakfast to make at home. It’s a whole-wheat tortilla with some low-sodium tuna, some medium salsa and a handful of low-fat cheese, grilled for about 5 minutes each side. It’s so yummy and really healthy, as long as you don’t add too much cheese!

I had that and a cup of green tea and I cleaned the kitchen. Then I cleaned the living room. Then I brushed my teeth and washed my face. And it was only 8:00am.

I wanted to vacumm but considering that my roommate had only gotten to sleep at about 5am, I didn’t think that was exactly fair. So I contemplated my options.

  1. I could watch some mindless tv
  2. I could pretend to do some work
  3. I could go to the gym and then get some groceries

A while ago I would have picked the first option without a second thought. Today, I picked option 3. I got dressed, grabbed my water and my shopping bag and headed to the gym.

I got onto the treadmill and did 35 minutes on level 4, random setting. Then I got onto the rowing maching and went mental on level 10 for 20 minutes. Then I couldn’t feel my arms! LOL!! I felt so sore but it was so worth it. I have muscles hiding underneath this fat and I really need to show them off. I can see them peeking out sometimes (yesterday I saw a recalcitrant tricep for a moment) and I want to uncover them once and for all.

I’ve done my grocery shopping and my roommate is STILL sleeping so I’ll shower and have some more green tea before vacuuming at noon (I think that’s fair enough, right?).

It’s funny how habits change and things you would never have even thought of doing before starting a fitness journey now seem natural to you. Six months ago, I would have found every excuse in the book not to go to the gym. Today excuses didn’t even enter the equation. As Nike says, I just did it.

And you should too!

Leave a Reply

