A tale of two curries

One of the many little gifts my mother gave me on her trip to visit was a birthday present from my SIL – a 4 ingrediant cookbook. I didn’t bring any recipe books with me when I moved, simply because I didn’t know if I was going to stay or not and it seemed pointless to lug a whole lot of books with me just to lug them back 6 months later. Plus I wasn’t really into the whole cooking thing – basically, I would take the easiest option around and use that. Shake ‘n Bake chicken, frozen meals, pasta and store bought pasta sauce – that was my thing. I was a very nervous kitchen companion.

So this recipe book was perfect.

I tried a dish last week while my folks were here – a ridiculously easy Green Curry Chicken. I followed the directions to a tee and the dish was … bland. The times given in the recipe meant that the sauce boiled away too quickly and so I’d had to add water (and probably added too much) and while I ate it, I didn’t enjoy it. Plus in their enthusiasm to get it down to 4 ingredients, they left out crucial aspects, like spices.

I was determined not to let a recipe beat me. While a year ago I would have walked away, I was itching for a fight and a victory. I was Nadal against Federer – determined not to let the bastard win.

I made another Green Curry Chicken tonight. I liberally used garlic salt and pepper over the chicken, I added salt, pepper and chilli paste to the simmering curry and reduced the cooking time by about 10 minutes. Served it over some yummy brown rice (first time I’ve made it!) and this time? My mouth was burning ever so slightly – it was perfect! I have plenty of leftovers and this time I’m thrilled that I do.

If anyone wants the recipe, let me know and I’ll post it – with my modifications of course. I wouldn’t share a sub-par dish! It’s really healthy (as long as you use lite coconut milk instead of coconut cream!).

In other news, since my window is south-facing and blind-less again, I woke up at 8am this morning and instead of lazing around, annoyed, I went to the gym. I didn’t do a full workout since I have training tomorrow, but I managed 45 minutes on the elliptical – while a girl next to me was going full-bore on hers! I felt slightly slow, but my heartrate was up there and my legs were working away so I kept at it and walked home afterwards for a lovely shower. I felt so virtuous! I haven’t cleaned the apartment so the virtue-points drop there but there is still time.

3 thoughts on “A tale of two curries

  1. Just stumbled upon your blog and I love it! Congrats on all your success, your amazing attitude and killer chili!!!

    Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  2. Sounds good! I couldn’t imaine making a cury with only 4 ingredients, it just wouldn’t work. It surprises me that of all the dishes they could have chosen to put in the book that would work with 4 ingredients, they went down the curry route.

    Their interpretation of ‘4 ingredients’ runs to “vegetables” being 1 ingredient, so it could work but I still think you need more than green curry paste for flavour. I think it’s a good start if you’ve never tried a curry before but it did need work.

Leave a Reply

