HYC Check-in – Week 2

How did I go this week? The mysterious scales have shown a drop a 1lb for two days now, despite this being TOM, so I’m taking it as 1lb lost! These are the scales that mysteriously increase after I’ve been to the bathroom (sorry for the TMI!) so who knows what the real number is though? 😛

My exercise wasn’t great – I bailed on the gym Friday, didn’t feel great on Saturday and went on Sunday. I had canceled Monday’s training too because of the concert that I was supposed to go to and I ended up going straight home instead of going straight to the gym. Normally that would be the death-knell for any exercise, BUT this time, I got myself off the couch and into the gym for 45 minutes on the elliptical (next to a guy who was seriously BOUNCING as if he was on a trampoline!), sweated my anger away and walked home. I felt awesome. True, it wasn’t a strength workout but it was something and definitely made me feel better.

Eating wise has been pretty good, other than the ice-cream yesterday and the pasta on Friday night. I’m trying to get back to listening to my body instead of mindlessly eating for the sake of it, and so far it seems to be working. Adding fibre into my breakfast means that I’m not as hungry at 9am and so I’m not tempted by the double-chocolate-chip muffins in the morning and I’m constantly sipping water or green tea to keep myself satisfied. So I’ve been getting my 2 litres of water in without any problems and eating better for it.

I’m going to sign up for a Singles Hike on Sunday, which should be fun. 6 months ago, I would have been huffing and puffing and bringing up the rear, pretending to stop for photo-ops while in actual fact I was too puffed to walk anymore. I’ll be pretty interested to see how I go this time and also maybe meet some new people and see the countryside. Hopefully they’ll let me pay with my Aussie credit card because I don’t have a Canadian one yet and I’d hate to miss out.

I’m really getting into the groove of preparing my lunch for work – 4 days so far. This is a record for me. I usually get lazy and forget about it until I’m out the door and end up having to choose between a really unhealthy option or a semi-unhealthy option at the cafeteria, unless I want salad everyday. So this is a NSV for me for sure!

Goals for this week:

  • Keep drinking at least 2 litres of water a day
  • Get to the gym 4 times
  • Increase my time on the elliptical (unless I drop from boredom!)
  • Make a fish dish for dinner

Okay, onwards and downwards (on that scale). Despite a crappy day yesterday, I’m confident the rest of the week will rock on!

3 thoughts on “HYC Check-in – Week 2

  1. You are amazing! I so WANT to be the person that goes to the gym or on a run to work out anger instead of stewing in it on my own couch. You rock!

    I am totally cracking up about your scale comment! I, too, have been a victim of the post-pee weight gain. Shouldn’t the highly trained engineers that design these scales know how sensitive we are to the numbers? Ugh!

  2. Great goals! Making lunches can help out health wise and money wise, too. Hurray for going to exercise instead of staying on the couch. Keep up the fabulous job.

Leave a Reply

