Non-exercise exercise

The hike today was FANTASTIC. No, that doesn’t sum it up fully. It was FAN-BLOODY-TASTIC.

I’m wiped from hiking 12km over 4 hours, which may not sound like a lot, but when you’re hiking at a pretty pace up a hill of 45 degrees, it’s a damn good workout. My body still hurts from Friday’s training session and this has pushed me over the edge. It was great. I never thought I would say that but here am I and loving hiking. It was a perfect day – hot but not too hot, a bit of a breeze and a clear sky. I didn’t get sun-burnt or bitten by bugs and I met some awesome people.

It’s hilarious – I met a girl with a shockingly similar name to mine, who live 2 buildings over from me ON MY STREET, and with whom I share a weird number of similarities. We kept poking one another and asking “are you sure you’re not me?” Very weird but great. I have a new friend which is exactly what I wanted to achieve today.

I really don’t want to go back to work tomorrow after a great weekend. I’m so tired but it’s a good tired. I really want to continue this feeling for a bit longer. I don’t want to face reality but alas, reality is approaching. I have a meeting first thing in the morning which will be interesting but I’ll manage.

I hope everyone else had a great weekend and has a great week coming up!

2 thoughts on “Non-exercise exercise

  1. I love it when I meet someone like that – similar likes, dislikes, crazy coincidences, etc. Like a doppelganger. One of my bestest friends, Trish, and I met that way (both of us are tall and struck up a convo at a party about where to buy jeans…found out we went to the same college, knew peeps in common…and it blossomed from there!)

  2. damn
    I love upbeat posts like this as they SO rub off on me/my day.

    kudos on the nonexercise exercise (although what does it say that *I* would so count that as exercise) and the new friend.

    it’s hard to meet people you REALLY like in this world…really connect with!

    normally I would count it as exercise but it was such a gorgeous day that until we started the cracking pace to get BACK to the bus, it didn’t feel like we were exercising, with all the hard work exercising involves. It was only after we were done that we realised, wow, we were exercising there!

Leave a Reply

