Can someone slap me please?

I am an idiot. I don’t say this lightly but I have come to this conclusion after much thought. Allow me to explain.

I was sitting in Starbucks this afternoon, reading a very interesting magazine (from which I have many blog-worthy posts to come) with a nice refreshing Frappacino. I drank said frappacino quite quickly and enjoyed it. Alas, my enthusiasm meant I was without beverage to carry on reading. I read for a while and then figured since I was without beverage and there were a few people looking to sit down, I’d leave and go enjoy the sunshine. I started packing up when two guys came up to me. They were holding drinks and had a third one in a cardboard tray.

Guy: Would you by any chance like a tall mild coffee? My friend doesn’t want it and it would go to waste.

Me: Um …. sure, okay. Thanks!

I took the drink (colour me naive or stupid for taking a drink from a stranger, whatever), went to fill it up with milk and splenda, glanced over at the guys, nodded and left. I was in the process of leaving before so I just took the drink along.

I realised 10 minutes later that both guys already HAD drinks in their hands – what was the third drink for? It occured to me then that perhaps I had just been hit on and had a drink bought for the express purpose of giving it to ME.

So I feel stupid. Slap me please.

It just never occurs to me that these things happen. I mean, random guys buying a coffee for a random girl at Starbucks. Really? And then the fact that it happens to me. Really? So it doesn’t cross my mind that it might not be entirely random or motive-less.

And then I feel stupid.

I seriously don’t think of myself as pick-up-worthy and I need to change that. So can someone slap some sense into me.

(and damn, the guys were CUTE too!)

3 thoughts on “Can someone slap me please?

  1. Go back to the Starbucks and if it’s meant to be…

    I liked your level headed post on Charlottes site and thought I’d pay your blog a visit, sorry, no coffee ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by! Next time though, I take my coffee with skim milk and one splenda thanks! ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. ok I am SO jumping in on this one ๐Ÿ™‚

    that is so sweet.

    cute.

    funny.

    and lovely.

    next time just give em a big ole grin & a wink and say in your best pseudo southern belle voice:

    now are you trying to pick up little ole ME?

    (what would *I* really do? stammer. get flustered. and spend the rest of the week thinking up witty semi-flirtatious but highly intellectual responses)

    The HILARIOUS thing is that my friends look at me for flirting advice and ask themselves “what would gemfit do?” and here I am, clueless as anything!

  3. Women don’t have to do anything! That’s your advantage in the beginning. Unfortunately, after the beginning, women have to do everything! Sorry about that ๐Ÿ™‚

    LOL! But women need to be able to read the signals (as do men) for the flirting to go anywhere. Being clueless is useless!

Leave a Reply

