A “V” word I love …

VACATION!

As in, I’m officially on one from today. True, I had to go into the office this morning at the ridiculous hour of 7:30am to check some final pages of the cursed book from hell before it went to the printer at noon (we got it there with 12 minutes to spare!) but from the moment I left the office at 10am until next Monday (with a brief return on Thursday for a meeting), I’m on vacation.

This means I have time to sleep, relax and recuperate my mental health. It also means my eating habits go out the window. Usually. So this is my challenge this week – keep the eating on an even keel. Okay, semi even keel.  I may be hyped on sugar right now – I went to the movies and got some popcorn and sour gums – but at least I’ve stayed away from dairy all day so far. I’m keeping up the drinking water thing, which is usually the first thing to go when I’m not in routine – and while I didn’t go to the gym today, I’m planning a trip tomorrow before meeting friends for brunch.

But I’m not denying that this will be a challenge. I think I’m more up to it now than I’ve been in the past. I’m more focussed. I’m enjoying the health and fitness part of my life now instead of seeing it as a chore.

Now I’m off to nap, as one does on vacation!

Leave a Reply

