HYC Check-in week 7

This week was a great week. I was on vacation all week (except Thursday when I had to come into the office for a meeting) and I had a great time. I did very little other than catch up on reading and tv and workout. It was bliss.

As a result, I lost another 2.5 lbs. It’s insane really. This is after a weekend of having a beer, a basket of sweet potato fries and a lot of chocolate. I told my trainer last night that I don’t want to be losing any more weight. I want to focus on toning up but my weight is a little low for my liking. The thing is that I’m used to this eating healthy racket and it’s tough to get out of it. I’m still eating chocolate (almost everyday) so it’s not as though I’m depriving myself. I’m eating 3 full meals and usually 2 snacks as well. I don’t know how many calories I’m taking in everyday (never been a calorie counter really) but I’m very rarely hungry. I’m wondering whether upping my carbs a little would stop the weight loss. I know I’m complaining about something most people crave but seriously, any more weight lost and I’ll be forever known as stick insect and that’s not my goal.

So now onto the whole maintenance thing – anyone got any tips for me? I want to do this right. I worry that as soon as I start eating more etc I’m going to pile the weight back on.

Other NSVs:

I managed to do 54 pushups in training yesterday. I admit that I drifted away from the 100 pushup challenge because of time and training being 3 times a week. The last few weeks I’ve been sore for a while after trainign and the last thing I’ve felt like doing is pushups. But I was pretty stoked at the 54 last night. True, they’re modified pushups (on the knees) but I’m not disappointed at all.

I bought some new jeans yesterday and I’m down a size. My shape is still the same (hello hips!) but I’m more in proportion. Honestly though, the number of jeans I own that don’t fit anymore is ridiculous. I really need to cull before I move.

So that’s the update for this week.

Goals:

  1. Maintain weight!
  2. Keep drinking 2-3 litres of water
  3. Get to the gym 4 times (I only made it there 3 times last week even though I had plenty of time!)
  4. Get to 5 minutes with the skipping rope.

Have a great week all!

8 thoughts on “HYC Check-in week 7

  1. Sounds like you are doing well. Whenever you figure out how to give up chocolate let me know okay? Have a great week.

    I’m actually not trying to give up chocolate – I’ve left it in my diet as an indulgence and I tend to stop after one or two pieces instead of a whole packet. I know that if I cut it out entirely, I’d end up binging and I don’t want that.

  2. You are an inspiration. And this post is exactly what I needed to hear in order to still feel motivated. Thank you! ❤

    aw shucks … me, inspiring? Get outta here!! No, no, stay … really, since we share a brain it might be a little weird if you left. Which half would you take? hmmm …

  3. Congratulations on the push-ups. I tried to do push-ups a few weeks ago. I did only 16 – normal ones – I was in the service. I used to be able to do 50. I’m so disappointed in myself. Not really. They aren’t part of my normal exercise routine so I don’t really care, but maybe they should be part of it.

  4. I’m all for chocolate every day – in moderation of course. 🙂 Can I ask how much weight you lost in total and how long did it take you?
    Everything is moderation I say! A life without chocolate is not worth anything IMO!

    This journey has lost me 20lbs over 9 months – doesn’t sound like a lot, but I’ve built a lot of muscle in that time and changed my shape entirely. I’ve probably lost about 25-30lbs of fat and gained 5-10lbs of muscle.

  5. FYI maintaining is a topic coming next week.

    when I started I ate all the cleanplain protein I wanted and didnt gain much fat but gained muscle.

    ( I did the ole test of DOES A PLAIN GRILLED CHICKEN BREAST SOUND APPEALING? whenever I thought IM HUNGRY! If the answer was TOTALLY! then I ate—-and it often was!)

  6. Not sure what to tell you on how to maintain because it sounds like you are doing all the right things. Have you ever had your thyroid check because I would say if you keep on losing weight and are not trying to you may want to get that checked out. I know thyroid problems can cause weight gain but I think it can also cause weight loss.

    Great job though on the weight loss!

Leave a Reply

