Are you missing something?

Children who have their tonsils removed or suffer ear infections are more likely to be obese when they grow up, researchers claim.

A set of studies appears to show a strong link between a liking for high-fat foods and the damage caused to taste nerves by chronic ear infections and operations to remove tonsils.

Children who have tonsils removed are more likely to be obese adults, studies suggest | Mail Online

Having never had my tonsils removed and having suffered from very few ear infections as a kid, I can’t really comment on this riduculous study. Oh right, I think I just did. Another study to find a ‘reason’ for liking high fat foods other than, say, they taste awesome? Another way to blame your body for something most people have responsibility for?

What do you think? Valid? Or insanity?

7 thoughts on “Are you missing something?

  1. No tonsils removed here, and no appendix removal either.

    Valid or not, I don’t think it matters. As far as I know, tonsils aren’t removed cosmetically yet – only when they need to be.

    Overweight issues are not -caused- by having tonsils removed, and I really wish I could find fewer articles about how such-and-such may be the cause.

    The cause of my current state is how I lived my life. It’s not genetics, it’s not medical procedures when I was a child, it’s not any of that stuff, though for all I know, they contributed. It was a non-choice that I made. Me. My fault, and my total and complete ability to fix it.

    Blaming someone or something else for my weight and lack of fitness doesn’t actually accomplish anything, in my opinion. If anything, it gives me a reason to just throw up my hands and say “oh well, nothing I can do to fix it. Not my fault.”

    Your last paragraph is EXACTLY the problem I have with all this “research” – nobody seems to want to take responsibility but the only way most people will change their lives is to take responsibility.

    It’s a big step to say “whoa, MY bad” and move forward. Blaming your tonsils or ears is not going to solve anything!

  2. I vote for insanity! 🙂 I have my tonsils and had only a few ear infections. And — I also beat the odds in that I never had a weight problem until my sedentary lifestyle and poor eating habits caught up with me — well into adulthood. And that last sentence is the cause of my obesity — sedentary lifestyle/poor eating habits. Duh. It’s not rocket science.

  3. well, I took a look at the article and I suppose if having tonsils or intact healthy ears has something to do with our taste preferences (tonsils doesn’t seem that far off – they ARE in the mouth, after all,) then I can maybe see the link. But if could also be something less direct, like (and I am totally making this up) kids who were sick and had surgeries/infections had access to better health care to treat these conditions,meaning they were from higher SES families and thus have the luxury of enjoying/accessing high fat foods like chocolate. That’s the kind of thinking years of biostats and epidemiology will do. Then again, lower SEScommunities practically ONLY have access to high fat foods like McDonalds so my theory is out the window. I just know I had horrible, chronic ear infections – ER trips, I’m talking – and I do love french fries. Whether I eat them is another story entirely…

    Your response is so, like, intelligent, that I feel slightly silly! LOL – but it does kinda make some sense until the end.

    I just hate the ‘research’ that takes away responsibility. I have ACCESS to fries and burgers, but I CHOOSE not to eat them every day. What happened to responsibility for your choices and the consequences?

  4. I had my tonsils removed at age 13, after suffering through years of strep throat that never really went away. I’d take 10 days of antibiotics, feel better for a week, then start getting sick again.

    I didn’t get fat until college, after 1) not ever being taught nutrition from my mother and 2) being put on steroids for asthma multiple times.

    So, do I think there’s a connection? No idea…

    The thing is, there’s so many obese and overweight people, I should think you’d find the numbers to “suggest” anything you want.

    Maybe I’m obese because I like the color green. People who prefer black are less likely to overeat? How’s that for a study? Do you think we could get funding for that? 😉

    I’d so be in for that funding. I personally like blue – does that make me predisposed to depression?

    I have so many reasons I could be majorly overweight – steroids for asthma since I was 7, PCOS, brochiectisus – but honestly, I had weight to lose because I was lazy and I ate badly. That’s it. Although maybe it WAS my colour choice all along!

Leave a Reply

