The difference between a misstep and a f*%k up is very small

Picture 2 people in the same job. Same responsibilities, same pay, same issues.

One day, they both make the same mistake. The misfile some documents and they get lost. As soon as they realise what’s happened, they react.

Person 1 – how could I have screwed up so badly? I’m so incompetent. Anyone else would have known where to put those files and I’m the only person who’s screwed up this badly. I’m so getting fired. Maybe I should quit first.

Person 2 – Shit. I have no idea where those files are. Not my brightest moment. Okay, so what am I going to do? Maybe I can empty out the filing cabinet and search? If I can ask someone to help me, we should be able to find them. If I still can’t find them, I’ll have to own up to it and deal with it then.

Who’s going to be more successful? It seems fairly obvious, doesn’t it?

So why do so many people act like Person 1 when it comes to weightloss and fitness? If you wouldn’t expect success in the workplace with that attitude, why react like that to your life and lifestyle?

Too many times, it becomes an all or nothing approach. I tried that once but it didn’t work so I quit or I’m so uncoordinated, I tried playing tennis once when I was 12 and I looked silly so I’m never playing again. How ridiculous would that be in RL?

“I tried filing paperwork once and I made a mistake so I’m never doing it again’

‘I went a meeting before. It didn’t work. We should never have meetings again.’

(I personally would love to be able say that sometimes!)

I vote that we BAN this kind of attitude from our lives entirely. Just because something didn’t work ONCE or because you missteped SLIGHLTY does not mean it or you are a failure. It’s one day. It’s one meal. It’s one workout.

I found myself doing it this morning. I was chatting to a girl on the bus and she was telling me that she was going to play squash for the first time. I started laughing and telling her how uncoordinated I was. Then I realised that I was talking about ‘me’ from 10 years ago – I haven’t tried anything ‘coordinated’ since then. How silly is THAT? How do I know that me-now is uncoordinated? I haven’t tried anything. Just because I was doesn’t mean I am now. I USED to have terrible balance – I don’t now, thanks to many hours of core work.

This is my challenge to you: if you find yourself with the negative attitude this week, STOP and change the thought. If you give in to that temptation called dessert, it’s okay. It’s ONCE or TWICE. It’s not a f*&k up. It’s not the end of the world. If you find yourself thinking “I’m such a screwup” STOP. You. Are. Not. I am not an screwup for eating that SmartPop yesterday. I missteped. I’m back on track. I’m not a screwup for skipping the gym on Monday – I had things to do and I’m back on track.

We. Are. Not. Screwups. We. Are. Human.

7 thoughts on “The difference between a misstep and a f*%k up is very small

  1. You are incredible, and I adore this post.

    I think I need to work on my art skills so that I can turn some of yours and MizFit’s posts into cute little comics I can pin up at work and at home, so I don’t forget.

    oooh, oooh, comics!! That is SO your challenge – work on those art skills ‘cos the Gem wants to be in comic! LOL

    Since you and I share a brain, you’re obviously incredible too 🙂

  2. what a wonderful point, and wonderfully put. We are all-or-nothing so often. I’ll do this with eating – I had a few bites of cheesecake…might as well eat two slices because I “messed up.” Such a bad attitude. My problem is that with so many things, I just from A to C without ever stopping at B, which would be the logical, rational step. It’s just calm or crazed. Maybe some Labor Day relaxation will help!

  3. Great post!

    Such a good point about how easily we give up when something doesn’t go right the first time. I know I do that when it comes to competitive sports–I haven’t tried in years; why am I so sure I’ll suck?

Leave a Reply

