Hiding from the world to make it go away

That’s what I’ve been doing for the past week and no, it hasn’t helped. It has however, left me in a permanent sugar high. Along with the same problems.

In the past week, I drank more alcohol and ate more bread, chocolate and ice-cream than I have for the past few months. I’ve slept less and procrastinated more. I’ve ranted more and breathed less.

In short, the past week has not been a good one. I got news last Tuesday that my work permit application had been rejected – not permanently, but more “we want more paperwork and resubmit” like. Not a huge thing except that my current visa expires in less than a month. I spent Tuesday afternoon in tears and then drunk and then in tears again. Which meant I spent Wednesday exhausted, in tears and possibly slightly hung-over. This approach did not make the problem go away. It did, however, convince most of my colleagues that I was either (a) deathly ill and contagious or (b) completely psychotic. They be slightly right on the second one, but still.

Anyway, things are progressing and I’m confident I won’t be deported or anything. But it threw me for a loop and made me realise that I miss my family at times like this. My friends have been great but sometimes you need a little familial TLC. Coming up to Jewish New Year is also tough – this will be the first time I’ve ever been away from family for this time. I’ve found services to attend and places to go for dinner but it’s still wrong somehow. I know what everyone will be doing back home and I wish I could be there. I was SUPPOSED to be there but what with this whole visa issue, I didn’t want to take the chance that I couldn’t return once I’d left the country.

So my fitness has been lagging and my eating has been haphazard but my life is getting sorted slowly. It’s times like this that I realise how much support we all need and actually have. People I never thought would even care about my situation have rallied around me and made sure that I’m not alone and don’t feel alone. And that’s been good.

That said, if anyone has a good contact in the Canadian Immigration Department, I’d really appreciate it! LOL

Hope everyone else has been well. And no, I haven’t finished assembling all my IKEA furniture yet. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Hiding from the world to make it go away

  1. Glad to hear from you, and gladder still to see that things are moving along, and not leaving you stuck in limbo.

    If that’s not a reason to backslide a little, I don’t know what is.

    And from what you’ve said, it’s probably a good thing you stayed away from toolkits. *grins* Even an allen wrench in the wrong hands becomes a missile of destruction.

  2. I’m a little confused – are you in the US working and from Canada? Or are you in Canada working? I know I should probably already know this so forgive me…

    If you are in the US and working, the good thing is I think you can keep working until your permit is approved because they already have your application. Bad thing, you can’t leave the US (or it’s recommended not to) until all is sorted out. Which is maybe why you are sad about the upcoming holiday.

    I’m on an H-1B right now and was lucky it was approved without delay. Sending you positive vibes!! If you’re in Canada though and working, not sure what to do to help you…sorry! I’ll just keep my fingers crossed for you.

    I’m in Canada working – I’m from Australia and here on a work permit for the moment. The same kind of thing applies here as long as my application gets into Immigration before the current one expires. It’s a little bit of a race against time. But yeah, I can’t leave until it is all sorted out.

    Cross fingers and toes if you can!

Leave a Reply

