On being open to new things

Last year (and the year before that and the year before that …) I found excuses for why I couldn’t do stuff – I’m uncoordinated, I’m weak, I’m not fit, I can’t this and I can’t that. And I missed out on many, many things.

Last year they put up the notice for our Publisher’s League Indoor Beach Volleyball teams and I looked at the sign up sheet and walked away. After all, I’m uncoordinated. I don’t do team sports. I’m not fit enough. I’m not good enough. Then I listened to my friends who had signed up – they sucked at the game but they were having a blast – they told stories about how much they sucked, how cold the sand was, what funny things someone had done.

Monday the sign up sheet went up. I looked at it. I picked up my pen and I signed up. 10 weeks starting next Tuesday night, straight from work. This should be hilarious – I will kinda suck, I know that, but you know what? I don’t really care!

Be prepared for some stories and mishaps. I’m sure there will be plenty!

5 thoughts on “On being open to new things

  1. Don’t worry about the end result.

    It’s all about having fun, enjoying yourself, and trying something new!

    If you get a laugh/smile out of it, then that’s all that matters.

Leave a Reply

