Bouncing back

I’ve had another tough week. I won’t bore you with exessive details so here’s a breakdown (not that I’m having one yet):

  • Still exhausted and still working 10+ hour days
  • Still stressed and not really sleeping well because of it
  • Eating better
  • Went to the gym once this week but did manage some home workouts (see below)
  • Number of co-workers I wanted to slap this week: 2
  • Number of paychecks I received this week: 0 (stupid accounts payable)
  • Number of epiphanies: 2

This pattern is likely to continue for a while – this project is challenging to say the least. I am glad to be challenged but sometimes I would prefer some sleep. Minor issue really.

It’s really sad when you get your second wind at 10am.

So, the home workouts. I finally got my 30 Day Shred DVD (Jillian Michaels, you are the devil). It’s crazy – 20 minutes of pain and then suffering the next day. It’s so funny though – every point that I reach where I want to quit, she stops and gives us a pep talk of sorts – almost like she KNOWS when I’m fading. Jillian, are you watching me?

And my epiphanies?

  1. I cannot drink coffee during the workday. We’ve had free Starbucks at work for the past week so I’ve been drinking up. And crashing. And drinking up. And crashing. I know that I’m tired generally but these crashes are not right. And yesterday, when I was *thisclose* to napping at my desk by 2pm, I realised that this could be connected. So we’ll see – I’ll stick to the green tea and same insane schedule and hopefully the crashes will go.
  2. I always thought I was a morning person. After 2 weeks of getting up at 5:30am, I realise that I am definitely not a fan of mornings.

Any relaxation/stress reduction tips for a super stressed gemfit?

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

4 thoughts on “Bouncing back

  1. Okay, I’m going to have to check out this Jillian Michaels I keep hearing so much about!

    Unfortunately, I have no tips. But I do wish you a weekend full of sleep!!

    • Seriously, this 30 Day Shred is intense but good intense. It’s only 20 minutes but you don’t stop at all and your heart is pumping hard. Great feeling afterwards!

      I’m trying to get sleep and also see some friends, which might prove the most stress reducing thing I can do. Hopefully!

  2. Hey thanks for visiting my blog and leaving comments! Seems like we share a common issue with our families and relocating and all.

    What brought you to Canada?

    • I moved partly for work and partly because I needed a change. I was seriously stuck in a rut and figured a small change wouldn’t cut it. So I moved, thinking I could always move back if it wasn’t what I wanted. So far, so good, other than the family issues.

      What took you to Australia?

Leave a Reply

