I’m so not a good ‘sick’ person!

I’ve been feeling a little run down for the past week or so – I figured it was my asthma rearing its ugly head as it does every season change. I upped my medication, dealt with it and kept on moving and grooving. My body did not like that.

Last night, my body was aching and sore. I put it down to my new-found fascination with running and thought “okay, rest day tomorrow”. Little did I know my body had more than a rest day in mind.

So I got into bed around 10:30 or so – feeling wiped and thinking that I’d get a good night’s sleep. Nope. I was freezing cold – had to layer on my sheet, my duvee, track pants, a t-shirt and a sweatshirt and I was still cold. I tossed and turned for about 2 hours before I got up and took some cold and flu meds. Then proceeded to get hot – stripped off all the above. Then I was cold. Then hot. Can you see where this is going?

In my delirium, I was convinced that today was March 30 and I was a week behind on my work. So my mind was racing. Obviously, I couldn’t go into work but I didn’t have my work with me. Who could send it to me? Could anyone else do it? Did I know where it was? OMG, I’m going to get fired. So, again, no sleep.

I got up at 4am to email a few people and get it all off my mind and that’s when I realised that it was only March 23. I was fine. So I got back into bed around 4:45 and had the best 1:15 hours of sleep of the night. Then I got up, felt like shit, showered, couldn’t eat, and stumbled to the bus. I made it 3/4 of the way to work, concentrating on not throwing up and falling over. That’s when I thought “you idiot. Go home”. So I did. I got off the bus, crossed the road and got on the bus going the other way.

I spent the day sleeping mainly. Feeling a bit better but still like shit. And this is when I wish I lived at home. MOM! Living by yourself when sick really sucks.

So body, you got yourself your rest day. I got no more rest days in the future – this better be enough!

3 thoughts on “I’m so not a good ‘sick’ person!

  1. Aw, poor thing! Go to bed and rest – that’s the best thing you can do. Take some Nyquil and enjoy the coma while it lasts!

    Hope you feel better soon!

  2. OH MY GOD. We DO have the same thing. I have the same exact symptoms – even work dreams on Friday – I thought I was AT work. Have you lost your appetite big time? That’s my post for tomorrow…

    Hope you’re finally feeling better.

Leave a Reply

