Operation De-clutter

As I mentioned a few weeks ago, I am a little bit of a hoarder, especially when it comes to cosmetics and generally things that can be found in the hair product and personal grooming aisle at any drug store. You would think that this is a good thing – obviously I don’t smell or shed or generally repel people.

This is true BUT …

It means I have a shitload of stuff. It’s hidden away in cupboards and drawers and really, I don’t need 3 cans of hair spray considering I’m not a beauty pageant queen. So I’ve been embarking on Operation De-clutter, or Operation Give it all away or Use it all up. Operation De-clutter seemed like the shorter and pithier title, don’t you agree?

So far, I’ve managed to give my mother a bottle of shampoo and a bottle of conditioner; a friend got some de-frizz serum and I’ve finished 2 bottles of shampoo on my own (I wash my hair quite a bit – the perils of working out I tell ya – nobody tells you this) and I’ve studiously avoided purchasing new bottles. I’m working through the half-empty bottles I had stored away and realising why I hadn’t finished them in the first place. But I’m not allowed to buy more unless I finish these ones.

I’m also taking my multi-vitimins more often, which is really a health thing but does it count if I’m only doing it to finish the never-ending bottle? Maybe this whole de-cluttering thing could be good for my health!

I was working on getting through the food in the freezer until my parents restocked my fridge/freezer so I’m going to have to start again. And figure out if the ground beef at the back of the freezer actually is ground beef or some other form of possible nutrition.

I know I should go through my makeup and discard some things, especially for health reasons (see? another thing that’s good about decluttering!) but I’m rather attached to my 4 shades of brown eyeshadow. I don’t care that they all look the same! I know I have a problem *hanging head in shame*

I know that I have a lot of work to do in the next 3 months. When I moved over here, I had the benefit of my parents garage and I didn’t have to get rid of everything. True, it’s unlikely I’ll ever want the stuff I’ve left with them (but don’t tell them that) but I know it’s there. Leaving this time is permanent and I have to make some tough decisions. Will someone hold my hand?

3 thoughts on “Operation De-clutter

  1. Good for you for taking action! It can be hard to let go of things. Just keep thinking, “Is this thing part of who I want to be?” You are making room for what is next.

    • My biggest problem is that old chestnut of “maybe I’ll need it one day” even though I know that should that day come, I’ll probably have forgotten I have it and will end up buying another thing.

      So I’m refusing to pack up anything I have doubts about or haven’t used/looked at in over a year. It’s tough though!

Leave a Reply

