A new discovery

I’m not one to post recipes, mainly because all my staples are ridiculously simple and not worth posting about. How do you make a whole post about throwing whatever vegetables you have into a wok and stir-frying with some sauce and maybe some chicken? Or a whole post about “buy Thai seasoning at the supermarket, cover a chicken breast liberally with it and chuck it in the oven for 20 minutes”?

But the last two weeks have shown me that I’m actually not a bad cook at all. Some meals I’ve made recently:

  • Grilled Stuffed Portabello Mushrooms with grains and veggies
  • Fish Tacos
  • Thai Chicken breasts (okay, so sue me)
  • Grilled Salmon with Wine and Herb marinade and brown rice and asparagus
  • Tilapia en Papillon (in baking paper so it steams) with Artichokes, Salsa and lemon

I’d say I’m a pretty adventurous cook, wouldn’t you? I’ve tried new recipes and added some to my favourites list. I’ve thrown out meals that didn’t work (hello asparagus I overcooked last night because I forgot to take them out of the steamer once they were done). I’m yet to actually make them one of my ‘throw everything into the wok’ stir-fries but I think they can miss that one really.

The thing I’ve realised is that I like to cook. I like to make healthy meals that are tasty and different. I like to vary things up. I just need to do it more just for me – I find that the biggest challenge of living alone really. It’s just too easy to throw something together at the last minute and not make it good and healthy – I mean, it’s just for you so why bother? Having my parents over and expecting a sit-down dinner means that it’s more effort for sure, but it’s not that difficult.

Today my Mom and I are making meat balls thanks to the freezer door not closing properly and the ground beef defrosting. This should be a fun cooking-together-in-my-tiny-kitchen experience.

Leave a Reply

