When I grow up

When I grow up
I wanna be famous
I wanna be a star
I wanna be in movies

Okay, maybe not so much. But, as I stand here, waiting for the next adventure in my life to begin (don’t you HATE that transition stage?), I wonder, what DO I want to be?

I’ve been given another chance to reinvent myself, to leave behind those things I don’t like about the me I am now and start anew. It’s a liberating idea and one I embrace wholeheartedly when I moved over here 2 years ago. I used to be the unfit, unhealthy girl in the group. The one who would huff and puff on easy hikes, who would talk the talk but hide when it came to walking the walk. I pretend to have no fear because I was scared of not being liked.

So I moved over here and I became Sporty Spice in the office. The girl who went to the gym everyday almost, the girl who had the healthy snacks but wasn’t dieting. The girl who went out dancing and drinking and meeting new people. Nobody knew me as anything else, so who was going to argue with the new me?

And now I have that chance again. A chance to embrace the bits of me I love and leave the rest behind. A chance to cultivate me again. A chance to grow up again.

So, my list:

  1. I want to be a writer. As in, I want to write for pleasure, with purpose. I want to find a writing group for support and write fiction, memoirs, articles, the lot. I want to sign up for more writing courses.
  2. I want to be a dancer. I want to sign up for dancing lessons and learn to salsa, to tango, to waltz.
  3. I want to be a photographer. I want to work on my skills again and get back into something I loved.
  4. I want to be a hiker. I want to be the person who goes hiking and exploring on weekends instead of watching pretty tv shows and thinking about going but never doing it.

Sounds a lot more interesting than being a freelance project manager 😛

Not that I’m unhappy with my work – in fact, I really enjoy it. But I think I need to nurture the bits of me that I’ve put aside for a while. I know I’m going to have a lot going on in the next year but I think this is the perfect opportunity.

Who’s with me? What do you want to be?

One thought on “When I grow up

  1. Hi Gemfit

    Great to hear that you are looking for the next adventure. I am 60 something and still doing the same thing. I have a little business that is focussed around life coaching and my niche is mature blokes who are looking for the next adventure. Some people call it retirement coaching but I actually talk about coaching for the next adventure.

    So just let me encourage you to keep at it, and keep writing there are people all over the world who will be encouraged by your story and just enjoy the journey

    ‘Fletch’

Leave a Reply

