Time ticking on

We’re at T-minus 19 days until I fly out of Canada and make my way back Down Under and boy, is it slowly beginning to overwhelm me.

I’m at that weird stage where I’m half burying my head in the sand and living the surreal life of ignoring that in less than 3 weeks I’ll be outta here for good. Then the other half of me is hyper-aware of what’s coming up and I just want to BE there. So I’m getting rid of things here and planning what I need there.

I’m inherently an impatient person. I think I may have mentioned that before. A few times. Because, well, it’s true. I.AM.NOT.PATIENT. So this slowly transitioning thing? Not my favourite part of this process. At this stage of the game, I just want to be leaving already but I don’t want to leave at the same time. I’m going to miss the interaction of the office on a day-to-day basis and the friends I’ve made here. Thinking about the changes that are coming is overwhelming, mainly because there’s nothing I can do about it until I get there. I can obsess about plan how I (and by extension, we) can make the whole move easier. I want to be able to control this whole thing and I can’t. There I am again with the patience thing.

I need some advice though – going into this whole freelance thing, I’m concerned that I’ll be working from a small apartment and there’s no space for a separate work area really. My issue is that my work day will end up being 24/7 instead of a typical 8 hour day. Now I know that’s an issue with working freelance and it’s one of the benefits in some way in that I can dictate my hours and work around what I need to get done. BUT I don’t want to be WORKING all the time and not “switch off”.

My question (after that rambling) is for those of you who do work freelance or from home – how do you do it? Do you have a separate office? Do you rent a space? How do you motivate to work instead of clean or do STUFF?

Advice? Thoughts? Rants of your own?

2 thoughts on “Time ticking on

  1. When I worked from home, my “office” was actually a computer desk shoved into a corner of our living room. I had to set a specific amount of time to work each day, and I couldn’t do anything else until my work was finished. Even if the dryer buzzer sounded, I had to ignore it until I was done working. Some days were easier than others, but you have to stick by your plan as much as you can.

Leave a Reply

