On being and staying healthy

I’ve had my H1N1 flu shot. I am one of those who fall into the high-risk groups – I’m asthmatic with other chronic lung issues to boot, so even if I didn’t usually get the flu shot, I’d be first in line to get this one. And I was – the clinic near my folks’ place started offering shots the Tuesday after I arrived in Melbourne and I was patient #5 or so. My parents have had the shot, even though they’re not technically high-risk – there’s no shortage of shots in Australia at the moment since it’s not peak flu season anymore down under.

But I know there are a lot of people who aren’t planning on getting the shot and I kinda wish they’d wear a label so I know who to avoid for the next little while. When I get a cold, I’m laid low for weeks – the last one I got in Melbourne had me feeling like death warmed over for about 2 or 3 weeks. When I’ve had the flu, I’ve been so sick for weeks and weeks. So there’s no way I’m signing up for getting H1N1 flu thankyouverymuch.

I look after myself. I eat well, I get my fruits and veggies in as much as possible. I wash my hands after going to the bathroom or eating. I exercise. I don’t smoke or drink to excess. I take my medications correctly and I get checked out by the doctor regularly. I wear sunscreen. I get vaccinations.

This is only one part of me looking after myself. What about you – are you high-risk? Are you getting the shot? Not getting the shot? Why? Why not?

2 thoughts on “On being and staying healthy

  1. I am happy you were able to get it, since you are high risk! I won’t, because I don’t believe it works (for me). I will just have to deal with the flu if I get it 😦

  2. I work in Public Health in Canada. Good for you, glad you got your shot. We are currently highly involved in our clinics giving out shots. As a member of Public Health I highly encourage everyone to get their shot. Here is our motto: Get the Shot or get H1N1. Doesn’t seem like a choice to me.

    http://www.bchu.org

Leave a Reply

