Where Gemfit entertains the class

Last night I entered the fray and attended my first ever ZUMBA! class at my new gym. This was a big step for a number of reasons:

  1. I am not coordinated
  2. I am rhythmically challenged
  3. See 1 and 2

This is one of the most popular classes at the gym – the class was packed and the room really wasn’t that big. There had been a yoga class in the room beforehand and they’d kept the windows shut so it was muggy to start with. Combine that with 30 women dancing up a storm and even the air conditioners couldn’t cope.

The instructor started the class by saying that if there were any first-timers we had to promise to come back at least twice more because judging the class on one class when you don’t know the moves is not the best way. That didn’t bode well for me – even in Step classes I’ve attended in the past, they at least went through the moves during the class and didn’t expect people to know the routines without guidance. I wasn’t sure about this class. Too bad I was far away from the door so I couldn’t make my escape.

The class started. As I predicted, I was ridiculously uncoordinated and had trouble following the instructor while shaking my booty authentically. I looked rather wooden and out of sync. I had trouble with the whole start with X foot and move Y while throwing your arms up like you just don’ care. In short, I was a recipe for some serious entertainment for those behind me.

I loved every minute of it. The hour passed by so quickly and I was a bit disappointed when it was over. Seriously, I wanted to crank up the music and shake it more! Who cares that I was out of sync? Nobody was looking at me – they were all dancing and having fun whooping it up (seriously, there was a woman behind me who was shouting “Woo woo” every so often. Cracked me up). I was a sweaty mess at the end and I loved it. The music gets your body moving, everyone’s having such fun that you can’t help but enjoy yourself. I loved that it was a huge mix of people – I think one of the women was in her 70’s or so.

Classes are Mondays and Wednesdays for the next 2 weeks and then off until January. I’ll be there, behind someone who knows what they’re doing so I can crib off them but sweating up a storm!

Have you tried ZUMBA? If not, why the heck not?

6 thoughts on “Where Gemfit entertains the class

  1. I stumbled into a zumba class on accident once. It was supposed to be step but I didn’t see the sign for the “new” class. I ended up laughing the whole time because the instructor sure did shake it a lot… I was not laughing at home the next day because I was sore!!! I still go regularly because it’s so much fun and keeps my mind off of actually working out!

  2. I went to my first Zumba class yesterday. You’re so right for your first day description. Just insert my name instead of yours and you described my class. Plus, half the class were other fitness instructors. If they spend their free time doing it, it must be good. It was fun. I plan to be back again this Friday night shaking butt and flapping arms. Beats jumping jacks and plain squats any day!

Leave a Reply

