I don’t like Mondays

First official workday of the year.

I lay in bed, mind whirling away and keeping me awake for hours. The Boy spent the evening in front of the computer, playing games, and only got into bed late. I can usually fall asleep without him there but not last night. And so I tossed and turned and even when he got into bed, he was still reading stuff on his iPhone and not sleeping. I eventually fell asleep close to 1:30am I think. I have no idea what time he got to sleep.

When the alarm went off this morning, neither of us were happy campers. It was raining and gloomy and we were both sleep deprived. Not a good combination at all.

The Boy dragged himself off to work around 9am and I got dinner going in the slow-cooker – Salsa Chicken with black beans, corn and salsa – and contemplated a workout before working. Considering the weather was sucky, I showered instead and dragged myself to the office, promising a workout later in the afternoon. I’ve now been at my desk for about 2 hours and it feels like an entire day. Ugh. I’ve crossed off a bunch of update to-do’s on my list and now I wait for replies. And considering that it’s Sunday in Canada and my Australian contact is still away in the States, I’m unlikely to get anything before tomorrow. I know I have a bunch of things I could get done without it but I’m not there yet. And I so I clockwatch and curse all those who ignore my emails. What do you mean, it’s Sunday and they’re not working? They should be waiting for my emails and replying STAT! I don’t care about their weekends! Psshw!

After the brilliant weekend we had, I’m struggling today. I’m not motivated to exercise and I just want to sleep. I don’t want to work – I want to win lotto and run off into the sunset. If it was still Christmas, I’d be the one on of the corner shouting “BAH HUMBUG”

And the Boy is not much better, judging by the way he was snapping at the travel show we had on this morning as background noise as we got ready. We make a great pair today.

But as unmotivated as I feel, I WILL exercise. I WILL walk to the bank and the dry-cleaners later to deposit my cheque and then head to the gym and get the weights done. I have 3 more do-able tasks to cross off on my list and the last task is a big one but I can get started on it and then leave the office early. I will get through today and get into bed at a decent hour tonight and tomorrow will be better.

How do you get through a tough day?

6 thoughts on “I don’t like Mondays

    • There’s something about venting isn’t there? Even though it technically doesn’t accomplish or fix anything, it still makes me feel better.

      And tomorrow damn well better be sunnier – it’s a running day and I’m kinda looking forward to it, even the omg-I’m-going-to-die feeling!

      Hope your side of life is improving too 🙂

  1. I sooooooo feel you on the work blues. Try as I might to be grateful that I have a job, I am completely dreading going to work tomorrow.

    When I have a tough day, I shed my angst at the gym. Listening to music and singing along is also a mood lifter for me.

    • I face that same guilt – I know so many people are out of work and yet I still dread going back to work after a vacation.

      The day I realised that the gym was my saviour from stress and ennui, I was astonished. Me? The unfit one? Needing the gym for stress relief? Wow!

Leave a Reply

