When it rains, it pours and then drizzles…

I ran today. Week 2, Day 2 of Couch to 5k.

Sidenote: I think the reason I never completed C25k before was that I never thought of it as actually running. I refused to think of myself as a runner while I was doing it because I wasn’t running the whole time. So it was just something I was doing in order to maybe become a runner. This time, regardless of how long I’m running for or how far I go, I am running. It’s not almost or maybe. It is.

Back to today’s run though. It sucked. I woke up to rain and it wasn’t entirely surprising as they had forecast for it. But by the time I got up, it had stopped and the sun was out. Yes, the ground was wet and it was a little chilly I thought this would be perfect exercising weather. You know, sunny but not too hot with a bit of a breeze to keep you from exploding. The sky was clearing and I laced on my shoes and headed out.

I could feel my heartrate climbing pretty quickly so I decided to increase my warmup time to get me to the flat for running sooner. I thought this was a smart idea. As I hit the first running interval, it started drizzling. Lightly, not enough to annoy me too much. I ran through and started walking and wondering if I should turn back. I decided that it wasn’t raining enough to be a problem and I should be more hardcore.

The heavens heard me. The heavens were upset that I didn’t consider their rain hard enough.

It started to rain harder.

Then it stopped.

Then it started again, even harder.

Then it stopped.

And then, then it POURED.

This is what it looked like. You can't see the rain but trust me, it was raining.

I gave in for a bit and stopped under a shop awning to wait it out. Please consider that I was not in rain gear – I was wearing yoga campris and a white t-shirt. Luckily, it was a thick white t-shirt.

Eventually it slowed down again and I carried on running. It was still raining until I got to my cooldown. Then it stopped and the sun came out.

Lovely sunshine for my cooldown.

I struggled through every single one of the running intervals today. It was not fun. But I’m really glad I did it. I’m proud of myself. And I’ll go out again on Thursday and maybe it’ll be good and maybe it’ll be tough but it’ll never be bad.

2 thoughts on “When it rains, it pours and then drizzles…

Leave a Reply

