Working 9 to 5

Sometimes I feel like weight loss and healthy living is a full time job.

Planning the workouts to make sure I get something in everyday but also target both resistance and cardio

Planning meals and shopping for ingredients and cooking said meals

Making sure I’m drinking enough water

Wondering how badly I need to go to the bathroom since my muscles ache too much to move

Thinking about how good/tough my last run was and wondering how the next one will go

You get the point. It’s a lot of thinking and planning and preparing. I can see how professional fitness people do this – they need everyday to workout and plan for eat and workout some more. It can be all-consuming.

Alas, I’m not blessed with time and I bet none of you are either. I have 2 clients’ project to manage, conference calls to plan, emails to send. I have a wedding to plan, friends to make, a fiance to hang out with and in-laws to see. And on top of all that, I have TV shows to watch, dammit! (Okay, that last one is not entirely true – there’s not much on TV these days and we don’t have cable so I’m pretty safe from TV watching). I don’t have kids yet (no, I’m not trying!) but I have enough on my plate to make thinking about healthy living all day every day an impossibility.

And right now, with the deadlines I’m facing, I really don’t have time to think about it.

Which exactly when I need to be thinking about it. When we’re stressed, it’s too easy to make excuses about not having time to exercise or prepare healthy meals, or take time out to breathe. I was go go go yesterday until I remembered that I had a breathing physiotherapist appointment. I debated canceling but I would have forfeited $75 and I really didn’t want to do that. So I worked flat out until 1:30pm, got a cab to the appointment, talked asthma and breathing and did some exercises and came home feeling amazing. The exercises she had me do are really simply belly breathing but focusing on your breath – kind of like a mini meditation. It made me realise how stressed I was and calmed my mind down.

Really, the exercises took all of 5 minutes and I was good to go. And I remembered why I do this whole healthy living thing. Why I take the time to plan my meals and buy healthy snacks (generally) and workout. It’s so I can get through these times of stress and be around for the good times. It’s so that when I eventually have kids, I can be around for them for a long time. I do this because while my mind pays the bills, it’s nothing without the body.

And then I have the time to do it all.

8 thoughts on “Working 9 to 5

  1. Ooooh, this is a good one! You are so right – those times when we want to skip all the planning and prep work are the EXACT times we need it most! Keep it up girlie – it will all be worth it! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Working 9 to 5 « Staying on course -- Topsy.com

  3. Healthy living can consume so much time, but it’s worth it. That doesn’t make it easier though. I start back at college tomorrow. Five classes, plus a full-time job, plus I’m a single mom. I’m going to do my best to continue my healthy eating and exercising, but it won’t be easy. …No, I take that back, I won’t do my best – that gives me an out – I’m going to do it, no matter what.

    • The thing to remember is that you’ll have more energy for the other stuff if you continue eating right and exercising. It does take time to do it but it’s definitely worth it.

      Good luck – it sounds like you have a lot on your plate!

  4. Hola gemfit, I found your blog through Someday Is Today’s blog! I love your name and your blog is very pretty! Anyway, on to the meat. I read your post and found so many truths in it. The most important one being at the end, that what does the rest of our life mean if we don’t have our bodies in good health.

    I always say that there are so many reasons to lose weight, but health is numero uno! It sounds like you have a lot going on right now, but I know from experience it is best for you to stay on track, especially with your wedding planning. Please visit my website and click on the YouTube video link, you’ll see a short video of exactly what I’m talking about! Turn up the volume on your computer! Hope you enjoy it and I look forward to keeping each other posted! Smiles!

    BTW – Congratulations on engagement!

  5. Healthy living is a full-time job. It is the number two priority in my life but man it seems like it takes over as number one sometimes. It has taken me a long time to figure out how to juggle my life and put everything in priority. I just decided my health and the way I feel about myself is really important.

Leave a Reply

