Surrounding yourself with support

Yesterday I had an awesome initiation into the world of blogger meetups – my very first meetup with Mary from A Merry Life, Kepa from The Fat Lazy Guy’s Log and Andrew from Andrew is Getting Fit and his family (his daughter is adorable!) and it was tons of fun. It’s weird having read their blogs and followed their twitter feeds for so long – it feels like you know each other, you know? It’s not like a first “date” but more like just hanging out with friends.

We met at Cornwall Park which was lovely and pretty and I really need to wander around it again (I’m trying to persuade the Boy to take me there one weekend so we can take photos and hang out). Initially, I just ordered a green tea (and I may or may not have made a mess pouring the tea leaves into the pot but there’s no evidence either way) but after seeing Andrew’s Devonshire Tea, I decided that I needed one myself. So did Kepa and Mary. Those scones were DELICIOUS. You’ll have to trust me until I get into the office tomorrow and I can get the photos off my camera. I promise to post them.

Last night, the Boy and I walked to a local Fish and Chip place and got dinner, which was delicious. It was also nice not to have to cook and clean up afterwards and plus I got to get some salmon, which I’ve been craving for a while. It was a little disappointing because it was a bit bland. I usually grill my salmon with some soy sauce and it gives it a really nice tang. This was pretty plain but I did have some lemon over it so I still enjoyed it.

We had a nice lie in this morning but I still got out there and went for a run. Week 3, Day 1 of Couch to 5K. Those 3 minute running intervals have been scaring me (really, you say? You had no idea?) and I admit that the second 3 minute interval was a struggle when my breathing got out of whack and I did have to stop for a few seconds and get back into a good breathing rhythm, but after that I got into a good stride and even threw in an extra minute of running after that. I felt awesome for having done it! I’m so proud of myself for getting this far and actually DOING this.

This afternoon I went to my writing group meeting. I felt like a bit of a fraud because I’m not really writing at the moment because I’ve put it on the backburner due to work and fear. Yes, fear. I’m afraid that I don’t have something profound enough to write but I need to get past that and I will. There are technically about 8 people in our group but really, only about 4 of us participate regularly and 3 of us were at the meeting. It’s really nice to sit and talk to likeminded people and getting support for the stresses and issues we all face. Whether it’s fear of writing or fear of running, I have so much support around me that I’m sure to succeed. Arrogant? Maybe. But definitely true.

How do you get your support? Did you have a good weekend?

3 thoughts on “Surrounding yourself with support

  1. Mandy – your blog is hysterical! I love it and you are a writer. Don’t fear it, go with it. I too just started running. what a trip. I joined the local track club and a women’s 11 week training program for a 5K. our coach says we are all athletes….well, not me. I’m more a hard worker and determined but I don’t athlete and Sara will be in the same sentence often. in reading one of your earlier blogs, I wanted to share a favorite quote…..Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass. It’s about learning how to dance in the rain.

    • I LOVE LOVE LOVE that quote Sara – so much so that I’m going to print it out and stick it on the wall above my desk.

      Thanks for visiting and for your lovely comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

