Gold star day on my 5k way

Today has been a good one. Not entirely that productive work-wise, this is true, but otherwise, I think I’ve earned a few gold stars for the chart (if there was a chart. Maybe I should make a chart and buy gold stars …)

I was scheduled to go for my Day 2 C25k run yesterday. I didn’t go. I worked through the day, did some grocery shopping, made dinner and then felt really quite bloated and sore so I didn’t go. And to tell you the truth, I didn’t want to go. My body was sore, I was tired and I just didn’t have the wherewithal to do it. I promised myself I would go today.

Today came around and I was procrastinating. I was going to go this morning but then it was already 11am and I didn’t want to run in the heat of the day. And then I ate lunch and had a snack and it was almost time for my Jumpstarting 2010 class with Mizfit and Dineene, so I couldn’t miss that. Do you hear those excuses? Yep. I was in excuse mode.

So as soon as the call finished, I changed into my workout gear and headed to the gym. So it was hot, fair enough. But not good enough. The gym has treadmills and while it’s true that I’ve been rocking the outside running until now, a treadmill run is better than no run. I walked over, jumped on a treadmill, set the app onto Week 3 Day 2 and off I went. I did find that running on the treadmill was easier except for the boredom from the unchanging landscape. But I did it. I even threw in an extra minute of running for good measure.

I took all my excuses and I threw them out the window. I’m not always going to want to exercise everytime. The weather is not always going to cooperate. I need to give myself permission not to enjoy it all the time and then take that and no longer use it as an excuse. No excuses.

I’ve now gotten further on the Couch to 5k program than I’ve gotten on either of my two previous attempts. This is definitely gold star worthy!

Leave a Reply

