Striving for Calm and Remembering to Breathe

I had GRAND plans for today. I was going to ZIP through my work, go for a run and then hit the closest yoga studio for the first of my try-a-new-yoga-studio goals for this week.

I did ZIP through my work. I did go for a run. I even threw in a session of the 200 Squats challenge (which I might do with weights next time). But alas, I did not make it to yoga. I had a conference call scheduled for 6:30pm and the class started at 6:00pm. I tried to change the time but nobody got back to me until 6:15. That didn’t help me. And it REALLY didn’t help that the call was annoying and I yelled and got angry. AND they called on my cell phone which I hate because the reception on international numbers is terrible.

But I digress. Since I didn’t get to a class, I’ll just have to do some yoga at home, which I will after a chat with Mish and once the Boy goes for his walk. I really need to get a yoga mat so I can move myself outside when he’s home.

The yoga studio I was looking at going to (and which I’ll go to next Tuesday) incorporates aspects of all types of yoga in one (except for Bikram or Hot Yoga). As the website says

[The instructor] completed her training in India in the Sivananda Yoga discipline and has been teaching since 2002. Having also studied Ashtanga, Iyengar and Anusara yoga, the classes are a combination of these traditions.

They talk about chanting, which kinda freaks me out a little. But it’s a class and I said I’d try!

To explain what the different types of yoga are, I consulted my Guru, aka Google:

Ashtanga

From Ashtanga.com

Ashtanga yoga is a system of yoga transmitted to the modern world by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois (1915-2009). This method of yoga involves synchronizing the breath with a progressive series of postures—a process producing intense internal heat and a profuse, purifying sweat that detoxifies muscles and organs. The result is improved circulation, a light and strong body, and a calm mind.

This is probably the yoga most people are familiar with. It’s usually the kind found in gyms and online.

Iyengar

From The Iyengar Yoga Assocation of New Zealand:

Iyengar yoga emphasises precision and alignment in the postures. Simple props are used to maximise the opening and awareness of the body, providing support to the less flexible, and extra extension to more advanced student.

This is the type of yoga I used to do in Canada (before it fell by the wayside). It’s slow and focused on holding poses rather than flow. You use straps, blocks, bolsters, blankets and other props a lot and it’s more about supporting your body than forcing it into things it can’t do yet. I went to class with a friend and we went one day in a MASSIVE snow storm. We were the only students there and so, even though we were beginners, we got “special” attention from the instructor. I could barely move for a 2 days afterwards and learnt the meaning of Joy Pain.

Anusura

Anusura yoga is where the chanting comes in I think. From www.anusura.com:

Founded by John Friend in 1997, Anusara yoga is a school of hatha yoga which unifies a life-affirming Tantric philosophy of intrinsic goodness with Universal Principles of Alignment…

[…]

Each class has a heart-oriented theme, which has a meaningful connection to the grand spiritual purposes of the asana practice. The theme usually centers on cultivating a virtue-a quality of mind or heart, which is a microcosmic reflection of our Divine nature. Each theme gives a direction for the attitudinal energy that infuses every action and breath in the poses. Effectively, all the poses in Anusara yoga are expressed from the “inside out.”

This is what I think of when I think of yoga equaling hippies. I haven’t had any experience with this type of yoga so it will be interesting.

There are other types of yoga and I’m hoping to explore as many as possible over the course of this month. Even Hot Yoga!

Anyway, I’m off to do a 20 minute session thanks to YogaDownload.com.



4 thoughts on “Striving for Calm and Remembering to Breathe

  1. I love yoga download!! My biggest obstacle in doing yoga is just finding some time alone to do it. Even if I lock myself in my bedroom, there is always a little one knocking on the door asking if I’m finished yet. Sigh. Classes might be the way to go for me! 🙂

    • I’m the same (minus the little ones yet though) – when I’m doing it myself, it’s too easy to get distracted or put it off. When you go to a class, that’s all you’re doing. You’re not home to ask for stuff or wash the dishes or, or, or …

      Your challenge: go to a class this month. Just. Do. It. Jill! 😛

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Striving for Calm and Remembering to Breathe « Staying on course -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

