L’oreal is right

We’re worth it.

This is my new mantra and it should be your’s. You can avoid telling people about the makeup-skin care connection. But repeat it often.

The last two days reminded me that if we don’t value ourselves, nobody else will. We are worth the effort and our expertise and knowledge and passion and love is worth so much more than we give ourselves credit for.

Unless it’s just me and then you can go. But I don’t think this is a Gemfit-only phenomenon.

Everyday of this freelancing life is a learning experience but more than anything it’s teaching me that my time, my effort, my expertise, they’re all worth something and I need to value myself FIRST before anyone else will value me. If I undersell and undercut myself by doing work for less than I should just to get the work, I’m selling myself short. I’m telling clients that I’m worth peanuts. And as a result, I feel like less than worthy.

I have some thinking to do this weekend but I need to remember that above everything: I. Am. Worth. It.

And this follows into our lifestyle choices too. Today I had a bad day health-wise. My stomach was NOT happy and I spent the morning running to the bathroom and lying on the couch, working where I could. I napped in the afternoon, I chatted to my neighbour as she came to help me sweep the balcony and I had a meeting with a new potential client. I didn’t go for my run and I snacked on junk food and I was disappointed. I let myself wallow but then I remembered.

I am worth it. I am worth the effort to be fit and healthy. If I don’t believe I’m worth it, nobody else will.

I stopped snacking. I ate fruit instead. I allowed myself the day off to rest and let my body rejuvenate. I promised myself I’ll go for a run tomorrow and I made a healthy dinner. Every choice is a new choice.

I am worth the best choices. Every single time I have a choice, I am worth the best choice.

3 thoughts on “L’oreal is right

  1. I needed to read this today — I just submitted a bid for a project to a client who then wanted me to show them an hourly breakdown of the bid. For some reason I felt nervous (what? do they think I padded the bid excessively??) and I had to keep reminding myself that I do know my stuff, that my estimates were fair and accurate and that yes, I am worth the hourly rate I charge.

    I am worth it. 🙂

  2. It really is true that you/we are worth it!!

    And it’s funny because when I lived in France and heard/saw the ad on TV in French, it sounded even more profound….don’t ask me why, guess it was that “ooh la la” effect 🙂

    Yes, you are worth it and a message we ALL need to remember from time to time!

  3. Oh my goodness I LOVE this post! I need it as a tattoo on my forehead, backwards so I can read it in the mirror. Except it would take up way more than my forehead. ANYHOW. I’m so glad that you are learning to appreciate the wonderful person you are!

Leave a Reply

