Note: back pain sucks

I really don’t know how people with chronic back pain cope and get through the day. It’s tiring people! Oh so tiring. Thinking about every move you make, bracing for the pain and hoping it doesn’t come.

I went to the physiotherapist yesterday and was told that I’d sprained the muscle that connects my ribs to my spine. I’m sure there’s a technical term for it but in the haze of OMG I CAN’T BREATHE I didn’t hold onto that. She was brilliant and released a lot of the pain for a while and I have another appointment tomorrow.

Alas, the release did not last and 3 hours later I was in agony again. I applied heat, took pain meds and gave up on working. I moped and groaned and winced and whined. I tried to find a comfortable position and avoid moving but it’s amazing how much we actually move during the day. Needless to say, I canceled my gym session (already PAID for!) and did not weigh in. I rescheduled the weigh-in for today, regardless of whether or not I’m good to work out.

Last night I barely slept, or rather, I barely slept for more than 30 minutes at a time. Every time I moved, I woke up and groaned. It was painful people. PAINFUL. I don’t do well with not being able to move. I eventually got out of bed at about 6:15am and reheated the hot pad. I also moaned about the lack of pain medication in our supplies.

But it is getting better slowly. Very. Slowly. And so today I will work a little, moan a little, stay in bed a lot and hope and pray that the pain vamooses quick smart.

Leave a Reply

