Holymolywattaweek

(to borrow inspiration from Mizfit!)

It’s been a week alrighty.

I turned 30 and found out that I fit into my wedding dress. I then proceeded to eat my mother out of house and home. Or at least all her cookies (all homemade, the sabotaging woman!).

I’m flummoxed by a decision that led to suicide and I’m still flummoxed and stunned. It doesn’t feel real, you know? Reading the death notices, talking to my mother about it, thinking how hard that funeral must have been. Remembering all the childhood stories that feature him – you could hardly tell the story of our childhood without him being there. I just don’t get it.

And then today, I got a call from my MIL – she’s just been made redundant after 11 years working at the same company. The signs have been there – a few of them have been asked to take days off here and there and the work has been drying up for sure, but wow, after 11 years, some beancounter decides she’s expendable without even talking to her manager about it? He was in shock that of all the people to let go, she was on the list. Luckily, they’ve paid off their mortgage so there’s no debt over their heads but still. At 60, looking for a new job. It just shows that the recession ‘aint over people. Here’s fingers crossed she finds a new job soon. Anyone in Auckland looking for an awesome admin/credit controller?

So today has been a weird day. I’ve barely left the apartment – filled up with gas, picked up some library books and got a little work done. I’m off tonight with a friend to start bellydancing though – it’s an 8 week beginner class, so hopefully it’ll be fun. I figure I have the hips for it, so I might as well use them. I’m looking forward to it but at the same time, I’m in a mood where I’d rather be on the couch having a pity party for one.

Workout-wise, I’ve gotten 3 workouts in this week. Depending on how intense the class is tonight, I’ll either count that or get 2 more in over the weekend to get to my 5 for this week. Anyone who’s doing the 5 in 5 with me, how are you going?

Leave a Reply

