What I learned in 8 weeks

I’ve been taking part in an 8 week diet and exercise program at my gym for the last 8 weeks. Today is my final weigh in. I know I’ve either gained or maintained the exact same weight for the entire 8 weeks. So technically, this is a failure.

BUT I did learn some things about myself:

I hate weighing in. Loathe it. I thought I needed the accountability because that’s how I lost weight initially when I did WW all those years ago. But I haven’t really had that for the last 3 years while I’ve lost this last 20 or so lbs through exercise and while I do weigh myself (sometimes too often), I’m not welded to the number. And honestly, when I joined this program, it was more for the classes and getting to the gym again than for the weight loss (as evidenced by the blank space in my sign in form for “goal weight”). It would have been nice to lose a few lbs. Get back down to my lowest. But you know, I don’t really care. I’m maintaining pretty well at the moment and my body is happy so I’m happy.

I hate strict meal plans. Give me a strict meal plan and immediately I rebel. I never followed the meal plans on WW and I argued constantly with Mr Nutritionist in Canada (I saw him 3 times in total). I actually know what food works for me and what doesn’t. I also know that sometimes I crave chicken, sometimes meat, and sometimes I just crave chips and chocolate. And you know what? If I give in one day, the world is not over.

I hate tracking food. Again, I LOATHE this. I’ve done it before and it’s bad for my psyche. I get obsessive and all I think about is food. What I ate, what I’m going to eat, what I should eat. I eat and before I’m done, my mind is already onto the next snack or meal. That is not a way to live. I can track food for a week – and that’s usually good, because it gets me back on course when I’ve strayed – but more than that and I’m done.

I love routine and structure in my workouts. I loved the classes and knowing that I had times crossed out for the gym. Nope, can’t make plans that night, I have a gym session. I used to have this with my trainer (miss you Joe!) but I let it slide and so my workouts were no longer a priority. What I’ve learnt from this is that I need to make my sessions top of the list, pick classes if I want or write out my routine and stick to it. That sort of accountability is good for me. It’s healthy.

So this has been a complete success. No weight lost, probably no inches lost either, but confidence gained and that’s a massive win in my book!

One thought on “What I learned in 8 weeks

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention What I learned in 8 weeks « Staying on course -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

