#30daysofme Day 7: Influential influences

This is a topic that is dear to me. I’m supposed to post a photo of something or someone who influences me. How do I do this? I don’t have photos of everyone in my family but they all influence me in some way. So here goes trying.

My parents. Love ’em. They’ve been married 40 years this year. Forty years people! They make no bones about the fact that marriage is hard work and you have to work at it all the time. They’ve been through tough times – depressions, major moves across country, across the world. Ups and downs and they’re in it together. I look to them as an example of what I want in my life. They’re all about family and love. We’re all very affectionate and that’s one thing I’ve insisted with The Boy – I need hugs and kisses and affection. I love how they support each other and us and how whatever advice I need, they’re there. Home advice? I call my Mom. Work advice? I rant to my dad and get back on track. I talk to one of them every day almost and when I lived in Melbourne, I was over there for dinner many nights.

My brother. I mentioned in my 15 things about me how proud I am of him. He influences me by showing me that you should go after your dreams, no matter how long it takes you to realise this. Oh, and he also shows me that if he can grow up and become a family man, anyone can πŸ˜›

My grandfather influenced me in a huge way but I never met him. He died when I was 6 weeks old and I reckon he hung around waiting for me and saw I was okay. But how does he influence me? He was a writer, a philanthropist, a great speaker and a great man. Other than the man part, that’s what I want to be. I remember when I started at school, my dad started laughing at him one day when I was doing my homework. I got all mad and asked what he was laughing at. Apparently, when I concentrate I stick out my tongue. He did that as a kid and so did my grandfather. So with that genetic link, I’m hoping the great writer bit will follow!

Not everyone that’s influenced me but a good part. Sorry for the lack of photos – you’ll just have to use your imagination πŸ™‚

One thought on “#30daysofme Day 7: Influential influences

  1. Hey Mandy,
    I just want to say that I’m enjoying reading and learning more about you! I’m happy for you that you have a close and inspirational family and that ‘genetic’ sticking out your tongue when you concentrate is just darling! πŸ™‚ And, you are already a great writer! I hope that you’ll be able to get back to your fiction writing soon – because I remember and loved what you wrote back in the days of Tafe πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

