Shifting Boundaries

After being warned about my blogging and twittering yesterday (none of which mention my workplace at all), I felt a bit gun-shy. I contemplated making my blog entirely private but then I realised that I’d never be able to track down the 5 or so people who actually read it and give them a password, so that was a bust. I thought about making my twitter feed private and I still might do that but I hate it really, especially since it’s really quite mundane. I toyed with the idea of getting offline entirely but nixed that pretty quick smart.

It’s funny though – whenever these sorts of things have come to light in the media – someone being fired for blogging about work or posting on their facebook about something obviously work related – I scoffed at the poor buggers. Surely they knew better than to post about their workplace, especially by name and on their facebook page? Surely the company was 100% right and the poor sod was an idiot? But now it’s kinda happened to me and I see that it’s not so black and white. I thought I’d been smart by not ever mentioning my workplace by name, not publicising my blog on my facebook page and not connecting it to my full name. I thought by blogging about weight loss and fitness and a little bit of my life I was safe. But obviously not. I think the rules and understanding these days are so varying and unclear that everyone can interpret what it means to be “safe” online quite differently. And therein lies the problem.

In a world where increasingly we all have more than one online presence, who sets the rules? Who interprets when a post, a tweet or a status update crosses the line? If only one person knows the truth behind the post – i.e. who it is, where they work – is that crossing the line? I’m genuinely interested and confused at the same time.

I’d like to think I’m not an idiot – I’m writing this post at home, before work, to be posted after work. I’m not complaining about my work, my colleagues, anything (although the weather these days is awful). I’m just puzzled about how I ended up even thinking about this at 7:23 on a cold winter’s morning.

One thought on “Shifting Boundaries

  1. It’s a tough one. I’m currently not working anywhere, but I still think about what future employers might see. I don’t know what I’ll do with my blog when I re-enter the workforce.
    I think there’s a fine line between monitoring employee conduct/representation of a company and plain internet stalking. You have your rights too.

    It sounds like you’ve tried to do the right thing and it sucks that it’s biting you in the you-know-what.

    I hope that you don’t lose confidence xx

Leave a Reply

