A new year, a clean slate

Baby-lifting-weights

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve fallen off the wagon big time but I’ve been getting back on slowly.

Since being made redundant, I’ve been going to the gym more regularly and I’m back to lifting weights, however puny these weights are now, since I have no strength left. There’s something rewarding about your muscles being sore after a good workout. And it’s giving me some structure to my days, which is good.

I’m currently the heaviest I’ve been for 4 years and I’m back at my original starting weight when I started this blog. Quite sad about that really. I maintained 20 pounds lost for a good 3 years and then bam! But nevermind, 2012 is going to be a good year.

It’s going to be the year that I get back to regular gym attendance and regular weight lifting.

It’s going to be the year I get back on course with my eating.

It’s also going to be the year that I get back to writing more regularly and focus on the creative side for a bit more. I’ve said this before but I’m determined this year.

I’m also going to be a more regular presence online so be prepared to read more ramblings (if anyone is still actually reading).

I hope 2012 is a good year for everyone. It seems that 2011 was a bit of a joke for many of my friends and I think we’re all due a good year now. You with me?

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 thoughts on “A new year, a clean slate

  1. Great to see that you have such a positive approach for the new year, Mandy. There are so many obstacles that jump out at us that keep us from living healthy. As long as we keep setting goal for ourselves, we will stay motivated as a result. Have a great new year and I’m looking forward to reading more from you:))

    jonwatersauthor.wordpress.com

  2. I hope you will reach your goal during the year 2012. It seems like your motivation is up so you are motivated to concentrate your meals and your training.

  3. I’m with you!! I also have been slacking – and it’s time to crank it UP! I just rejoined My Fitness Pal to start tracking my calories again – I feel that when all else fails, that’s a wee bit of control that I can have there. Good luck, I’ll be cheering for ya!

  4. Yay weightlifting!! I’m a huge fan! I’ve been getting into the foundation exercises (squats, deadlifts, rows, presses).

    Anywho, goodluck for 2012!

Leave a Reply

