Skin like sandpaper

Last week, my skin went mental and reacted to something. Almost overnight, I had skin like sandpaper – dry, scaly, itchy beyond belief. I felt like I was wearing a mask, as if I was hiding from the world. 

I figured out that it could either be my moisturiser or my foundation so I stopped using both and bought 2 new moisturisers. I pampered my skin, reassured it that it was safe the shed the scales and re-emerge into the world. It took about 3 days to feel normal again and while my skin is still a little dry, my scaly mask has definitely shifted.

I reacted super quickly because I could feel and see the effects of the irritation and I felt like the world could see the effects too. In my mind, there was no question that I would change everything to make this reaction go away.

 And yet, when I react to food or a situation, I don’t seem to change as quickly. When my stomach is emphatically unhappy at the crap I’m shoving down my gullet, I ignore it. When I’m getting stressed out over a situation I can change, I do nothing. And then I wonder why I still feel crap when it’s really no wonder. In fact, it’s more of a wonder that I don’t fall down in a heap all the time.

I have fallen down in a heap today though. It’s been a long week and last night, I slept for almost 12 hours. I got up, went grocery shopping and my back seized up, a sure sign that my body has gone ‘F you, we’re on strike’. So instead of getting ALL THE THESIS written and ALL THE FOOD cooked, I slept some more and I’m taking it easy. I’m treating this as I treated my skin reacting. Bad reaction means a change must be made, so I’m making it.

Do you listen to your body when it cries out to you?

2 thoughts on “Skin like sandpaper

  1. I try to listen to my body too…sure I take a bit longer when it’s protesting junk food haha, but right now I’m fighting something off. I have not been able to shake that ‘coming down with something’ feeling for almost a week. I was supposed to go and see some friends today but I made the decision to stop pushing myself when my body was upset with me and I’m resting. I hope it helps because I’m sick of feeling almost sick!
    Hope your body appreciates you listening this time and that you feel better soon x

    • I hate that ‘almost feeling sick’ feeling! I hope you feel better soon x
      I’m really hoping that I can change whatever I’m doing to make me so stressed and sore – I seem to be unable to actually rest these days LOL!

Leave a Reply

